MOORE-haus STYLE

I hate the idea of confining myself to a “style” – but as everyday I (somehow) get more and more people stumbling onto this blog, I figured it was about time that I tried to explain our style, our design goals, and maybe a bit on the dream house.

While today our apartment is messy, cluttered, and makeshift, I hope to one day own and have decorated a home that I feel is refined, cultured, clean, sophisticated,  and modern.  I know that’s a lot of words, but I feel it’s more appropriate than saying “our style is mid-century modern/mad-men chic/70s palm springs” as much as any of those might be the closest to the “style” we would like to emulate.  We like (or I like and I am working to convince the man) angles and clean lines, geometry influenced art,  white or black walls (Alex here would say: “boring”), and furniture that looks like it’s been collected out of  a 70’s design book, Sweden, or a maybe a piece or two from BBC’s Sherlock Holmes – without the price tag.

We are obviously are just getting started and are still “practicing” on rentals before we buy a house but hopefully all these baby steps will lead to us one day looking at our home as a true reflection of us and the things we love.

Here are some of my favorite design photos right now, to give you more of idea of what I would love to have our place look like.. you know.. when we grow up:

(You can also follow me on Pinterest and see all my design “pins”)

via Elle Decor

via Designed for Life

via Desire to Insprire

via Malabala

via Matthew Williams

via The Brick House

There are many more that I have saved, however, I don’t want to post any photos that I don’t know the source on this blog, so deal with it.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

