Final Assignment Semester Two

Tomorrow will be my first Wednesday without three hours of class. I already anticipate some serious withdrawls. So in preparation of such, I figured it would be an appropriate time to share my final class project, a Specimen Book that I did for Helvetica.

If you are not familiar with what a specimen book is, basically it is a book that illustrates explores different sizes, cuts, and alignments of a typeface. In this case, Helvetica. The idea is that this will give a client a better understanding of what the typeface they are considering would look like in a real life application.

The particular assignment was to select a group of quotes, ideas, words, idioms, dog breeds, etc. to utilize for demonstrating the typeface. I chose a selection of quotes from a number of books by Tom Robbins. I wanted to incorporate some imagery or photos, because let’s be honest, the typography class had us using type – and type alone – pretty much the whole semester and I was itching for some added artistic elements. Rather than choosing random google images to pair with each of the quotes (which wouldn’t be legit anyway since I wouldn’t own the images – tisk, tisk) I chose to use family photos. I took my long list of Tom Robbins quotes and imagined which, if any, my particular family members might be caught saying. Thus the cover page explanation: “Helvetica, a specimen book, as inspired by family through the words of Tom Robbins.”

Anyway, if you are all still there, here is what I came up with:

Specimen Book1Specimen Book2Specimen Book3Specimen Book4Specimen Book5Specimen Book6Specimen Book78Specimen Book9Specimen Book10Specimen Book11Specimen Book12Specimen Book13Specimen Book14This was all put together in an accordion style book form (pages 6 and 7 are a spread which folded in half.) It was quite lovely, if I do say so. I definitely plan to take some photos of the printed project, sometime, someday. In the meantime, I hope you like what you see so far.

I will miss you, classes. Well, maybe not so much the homework or the lost hours of sleep, but loves all the same. See you in a couple months.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

