Miscellaneous Things I Wish I Owned, Volume Two

I spent a couple of days this week in downtown LA, which is a bit out of the ordinary for me, considering us South Bay-folk like to stay in our little bubble. While it was a wonderful experience with a few great friends, I left the city feeling young and re-inspired, yet super old and mundane at the same time. Needless to say, I ended up having a mild mental breakdown upon return to normal daily life, full of “who am I?”s, “what am I doing with my life,” or “how did I get HERE and where am I heading towards?” I don’t think I was able to fully answer any of those questions, after hours of self-pity-partying, but today I finally woke up remembering I don’t need to know or even ever fully figure out the solutions to these life problems. Sure it is great to have a plan and sense of direction, but I won’t get that time back that I spent feeling sorry for myself and overwhelmed. Maybe it is because I am turning 25 this year and it feels like this weird milestone that as kids we only looked to thinking “I wonder what awesome things I will be doing at age 25?,” and I am just not being honest enough with myself over what great things I have ACTUALLY already accomplished and what even more incredible things lie in my future. I am certainly a horrible pessimist most of the time, entirely cynical and self-deprecating, but every once in a while the positive and extremely motivated personality of my husband rubs off on me, bringing light to those gloomy days where I am simply giving in far too much to my negative thoughts. Maybe I am bipolar (probably shouldn’t joke about this sort of thing..) but just yesterday I was feeling terrible/depressed/confused, and suddenly today it clicked and I am feeling loved/grateful/hopeful. I know I am not the first to experience downer days like this, and I know it wont be my last, but I hope that if you ever have a few moments or thoughts of this variety, you do have someone wonderful in your life, like my husband, to help you power through it. And if not, I just want to extend the offer, for now and for always, that you can reach out to me and we can be sad little monkeys together and hopefully get past these sort of unmotivated and defeating moments.

I am not sure what any of this has to do with today’s post – nothing really, so how about we switch gears and put on those materialistic-hats, shall we? Here are five things that are super pretty and I want them. I want them and then I will Vine my doggie on or around or above or below them. And you will be very happy because you have yet another super adorable dog video for your viewing pleasure. Win-win-Jenny-win.

4 misc

1. Suck UK, Cloud Key Holder via Emmo home

2. West Elm, White Enamel Teapot

3. Mr. Perswall, White Marble Wall Paper

4. Urban Outfitters, Gold Gumball Desk Lamp

One thought on “Miscellaneous Things I Wish I Owned, Volume Two

  1. Pingback: Words for 2013 | Settling Sideways

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

