Snack Time

Maybe this is too transparent, or will be post that I look back on in the future and feel I went one level too deep or too personal, but the truth is that I bit off more than I could chew last semester and I struggled quite a bit. Or rather, I bit off too much without the proper dentures to get the chewing done. Hence me taking this month to get my ducks in a row so that I am prepared and ready to incorporate classes again and still have time for myself, my relationships, and this blog – on top of the other responsibilities on my plate.

I kept feeling so overwhelmed that I never knew where to start and all I could think about doing was taking a nap. Under the coffee table. I hate feeling self-pitying – I try and never lose sight of the fact that there are many out there with a far worse situation than what I am in, but sometimes one just enters a spiral and you end up leaning on those you love in an unfair way to pull you back up for air.

Anyway, to try and combat having a constant defeated feeling, I started, and it may sound cheesy, but writing down three things I am grateful for and the list of things I accomplished that day. Too often I was going to bed thinking about all the things I had to do or how little I actually completed, instead of being positive and focusing on the successful things about the day. So now, the last thing I do before I hit the hay is pull out my journal and pour out some good ol’, glass-half-full, yay-I-did-it kinda stuff.

So far it has helped and for sure one of the things that I am going to be writing down today is how grateful I am that my current job allows me to have three day weekends every other week. Today is one of my days off and I have been having such a nice me-day. Part of this lovely me-day has included two of my very favorite snacks —

Apples with almond butter: Not much too this, I cut up my apple, squeeze a little lemon juice, and dip into some almond butter. The end.

Apples and Almond Butter

Avocado and fried egg: Avocado, some fresh lime juice, cilantro, garlic salt, fried egg, salt and pepper, all topped with a little Siracha.

Avocado with Fried Egg

 

I hope you, too get a good me-day soon. Warm hug-filled thoughts go out to all of you – thank you for reading and having this short story of mine be heard.

One thought on “Snack Time

  1. three day weekends – that’s definitely something to be grateful for! being transparent and open is, i think, endearing. bloggers who show only the highs and fun stuff are a little one dimensional, no? you got through the semester and that’s what counts – now you know what to do differently next semester…learning & growing – let’s be grateful for that ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

