DIY Felt Coasters

Most days I come home, mildly exhausted, wanting only to lie on the couch, snuggle the doggie, and eventually fall asleep – all the while already being so tired by the thought of doing it again tomorrow. On good days, I might have enough energy to make dinner. On great days, I may even do the dishes after. Lately, I have been a bit better about it and my husband has been excited to have me cooking again, although he has been less than thrilled (I can imagine, he really isn’t a complainer) that I continue to Bring It On Down 2 Veganvillenoms, noms.

That is all beside the point. What I am getting at here is that I am a very sleepy person. A sleepy person who likes to give herself enough responsibilities that she has no choice but to keep chugging through the day. While my free time is few and far between, most of the time, if I do find myself with an unclaimed second or the rare occasion where one or a few of my responsibilities are able to relax a bit, I am all too good about giving into the temptation of doing absolutely nothing. But as one recent evening will stand to prove, when I do utilize and embrace those free moments to cross something off my long list of would-be-nice-to-dos, I feel like a spandex-wearing, makeup-rocking, Bowie-esque, rock star.

It was just a week or two ago that I sat down one night to make not only my canvas bag and my leather coin/wallet, but ALSO some fun felt coasters. I have tried to spread out sharing these easy DIYs for two reasons:

1. Let’s be honest, blogging is super fun but it is still something I hate to do half-assed. And while all of my posts are far from perfect, they still take some time. Extra time that isn’t naturally part of the schedule. Honest truth, because I love you.

2. I want this spectacular evening to motivate me as long as it can to keep up the extra effort; to milk that progress and let it fuel even more Ziggy Stardust moments.

Today I am sharing some quick, easy felt coasters I made and how I made them, but (again, with the honesty) it really is more for me than you. I hope this last of three easy DIY posts will continue to serve as a reminder that while sleep is nice, as long as I am still getting enough of it and I can fit it in, doing some projects like this, really makes me a happy lady.

+++ If this isn’t motivation enough Sweet Thing blogger, Jessie’s totally beautiful home, which she has only been in for THREE MONTHS, will hopefully make me feel guilty enough about my slow progress to provide me with the swift kick in the rear that I need to get some shiz done.

DIY FELT COASTERS

Supplies

Felt

Foam Sheet with one adhesive side

Scissors

Round template of some kind – I used a candle

Pen

Needle and embroidery thread

Drink to place on coaster (for testing and enjoying success)

Starting with the foam sheet, I took a candle and a pen and traced around the candle to create a circle which I could lightly see on the sheet. I repeated this process six times because given my candle/circle template size, this is how many coasters I could make from one sheet.

After I had traced the circles, I cut them out. Then removing their backing to expose the adhesive side, I arranged them one-by-on on the felt with at least 1” of breathing room between them.

Next I cut around the foam circles on the felt, leaving a little excess over the edges – about a ¼” around the entire circumference. And voila, felt coasters.

2013-04-27_1367043796

I went on to add a little extra detail because, like many, I am digging crosses these days. I grabbed some embroidery thread, pulled back the felt slightly and with only two straight stitches, I had a simplified version of the shape.

2013-04-27_1367077848

I especially like them against our burl coffee table. Army green with bright blood orange-red is a happy combo – what colors are you making your coasters?

Felt Coasters2 by Settling Sideways

Felt Coasters by Settling Sidewaysv2

Here is even more cross-love:

Apothecary Soap Dish by Izola

Apothecary Soap Dish by Izola, PHOTOS by IZOLA

Sam and Anne's Bedroom from Apartment Therapy Feature

Beautiful Bedroom from Sam & Anne’s Cozy Modern Blend House Tour as featured on Apartment Therapy featuring Piawallen Blanket, PHOTOS by APARTMENT THERAPY

Vinyl Wall Sticker Decal from Urban Walls

Vinyl Wall Sticker Decal Art – Plus Sign by Urban Walls, PHOTOS by URBAN WALLS

Cross Box Outlet Cover by Door Sixteen

Cross Box Cord Cover by Door Sixteen, PHOTOS by DOOR SIXTEEN

Medicine Cabinet Cross Project by Door Sixteen

Medicine Cabinet Cross Project by Door Sixteen, PHOTOS by DOOR SIXTEEN

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

