Trying

So the theme of June and July (so far) has been – DISTRACTION. I hope I get to tell about why, soon, but for now that is all I can share.

I am kind of a negative, dark and stormy person. This is just a fact, not hot-of-the-press news, but the reason I bring it up is that it is particularly hard to function like a “normy” (that is all of you, sorry) when you are a dark and stormy person that is totally distracted, ALL of the time.

Another thing about dark and stormy persons is that inspirational quotes generally annoy before they inspire. I mean, I want to be the kind of person that is all about ‘Keep calm and carry on’ or whatever the latest fueling motivational is, but I am not, and therefore I am just full of eye rolls and whatever other pretentious, judgemental expressions there are. That being said, every once in a while, every leap year, maybe, I find one that I don’t hate so much and might actually resonate with, a bit.

I’m on Twitter (sorry, my writing skillz aren’t stellar today, I promise this all comes together) and I follow Bob from Biggest Loser. I don’t watch the show, but I used to work at the Starbucks that he frequented and basically he is EVEN MORE fabulous and kind in person than he seems on tv. Also he has great shoes. Anyway, he is the kind of person that loves those sunshine-in-your-coffee kinda quotes. Generally, I am my normal ‘meh’ sorta person about all of that, but today he actually posted one (from @dailytherapy [can I get an eye roll?]) that said the following, and more than making me feel all warm and fuzzy, it was actually something I think I needed to hear and take in:

“No matter how many mistakes you make or how slow your progress, you’re still way ahead of anyone not trying.”

I think I haven’t really been trying.

More than being the kind of person that gets pumped up by some silly words, I want to be the kind of person that tries. So, I am going to get on that.

Hope you all had a wonderful 4th, celebrating ‘Merica, and all that. Turns out the country we live in is getting cooler and cooler every year – I mean DOMA’s dead, and that alone was worth (much more than) this hangover I am rockin’. That, and, my dog somehow didn’t commit doggie suicide due to the fireworks just outside our door which is incredibly awesome. Being a (dog) mom is the most stressful of jobs.

Also, this is pretty great: dog stash!

And now is when I eat all of the quesadillas!

 

*Patience for the randomness of this post is appreciated.

** Picture-less posts feel really weird.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

